"success only breeds a new goal."

8:30 p.m. x 2004-05-29

1
the short description is a bette davis quote, and it is cool.

2
weddinged today. that was a very nice ceremony. people who spend months in the wilds of africa emerge with startling clarity as to the idea of marriage (*cough cough* - i think you know what rude remark i'm thinking of, don't you?) and it was a very un-pretentious, affectionate affair. no religious references were made. they just liked each other and quoted from an inaugeration speech (that was random, but appropriate, the quote was nice but i forget it). i wrote them an important note in their guestbook regarding the importance of kids' names.

3
everyone just put up with each other for a solid schoolyear. everybody take 3 months apart now. you'll get your shit in order.

everybody's so fucking tense (myself included - in fact i am worse because i have a cold that is making my brain swell up against my skull and am struggling with anger again). i'm going back to being an apolitical recluse.

"THE EQUALIZER" BY CLINIC IS A FANTASTIC SONG and can be heard in the park scene in the movie "thirteen". go see. listen. awesome.

while we're at it.

I LOVE THE FILM "THIRTEEN"

it is a little exaggerated, but an appropriately exaggerated truth. the scene where the dad drills mason (the main character's older brother) for what is "wrong", mason rolls his eyes and walks away - that's a great statement.

DANCE OF THE SEVEN VEILS
johhny my love
get out of the business
it makes me wanna rough you up
so badly
makes me wanna roll you up in
plastic
toss you up and pump you
full of lead
johhny my love
get out of the business
the odds are getting fatter by
the minute
that i have got a bright and
shiny platter
and i am gonna get
your heavy head
i only ask because
i'm a real cunt in spring
you can rent me by the hour
i know all about
the ugly pilgrim thing
entertainers bring
may flowers

so johnny my love
we got us a witness
now all we gotta do is
get a preacher
he can probably skip the
"until death" part
cause johnny my love
you're already dead
i only ask because
i'm a real cunt in spring
you can rent me by the hour
i know all about
the ugly pilgrim thing
entertainers bring
may flowers
may flowers
may flowers

to you

liz phair, "exile in guyville"

if anybody should ask i'm going to a seminar
pieces of the moon
JOBJOBJOB
interviewinterviewinterview
sensitive heart, you're doomed from the start
(& etc)

anybody can be just like me, obviously.
not too many can be like you, fortunately.
� KL 02-11